British Parliament

London England Tourist Information and City Guide

The Palace of Westminster (British Houses of Parliament) is a gorgeous gothic revival building located on the banks of the River Thames in London England.

 The British Parliament is comprised of two chambers:  The House of Commons and the House of Lords. The Palace was constructed in 1840.

 Members of the British House of Commons (659 seats) are elected by UK citizens.  Members of the House of Lords (over 1,000 seats) are appointed by parliament.

British Parliament in London England
British Parliament Buildings, London England

Free guided tours of the palace are available at designated times during the year.  When parliament is in session, visitors can watch the parliamentary debates from the visitor's gallery.

The Britain's Houses of Parliament are located in the City of Westminster district of Central London (London SW1). For more information, please visit

Next Page